Scones.

June 6, 2008

My lovely wonderful boss lady keeps talking about scones – she just wants a scone with her coffee, a scone, it sounds so good… she’s not even hungry but do they have scones down the block? – and now I can’t think of anything but scones myself. Visions of scones dance through my head.

I had a really really wonderful scone once, a white chocolate apricot scone, and all scones since then have been sub-par.  Except fair scones.  Fair scones are glorious.

How am I even going to make it through this slow Friday?  I can’t see a light at the end of this sitting-at-this-desk-doing-very-little tunnel.  Oh, perhaps I won’t make it.  Maybe I am destined to waste away at my desk, scone-dreams unfulfilled.

If you find my prone, scone-starved body under the desk on Monday morning, please grant this final wish: find those white chocolate apricot scones and serve them at the reception after my memorial service.  No sub-par scones for my grieving loved ones.  But, a warning: if, somehow, I find out that anybody sings On Eagle’s Wings at the service… I will return from beyond solely to punch the responsible party in the face.

-mym

4 Responses to “Scones.”

  1. Steddie Says:

    Fair scones ARE delicious. Oh Jesus. Now I want a fair scone.

    Dude, I’m going to sing The Wind Beneath My Wings at your service. Kate’s got On Eagle’s Wings. And we’re going to wear wings. Just you wait.

    Oh, nevermind. You’ll be dead. 🙂

  2. yvanka Says:

    That’s okay. Because I’m going to sing From a Distance with revamped lyrics at your service.

    From a distance, there in the great beyond,
    Steddie, she echoes through the land.
    And she’s the ghost of ghosts, she’s the dead of deads,
    She’s haunting the dreams of every man.

    And Steddie’s watching us, Steph is watching us,
    She is watching us from a distance – OH!
    Oh, Steddie is watching us, Steph is watching us-
    Yes, she’s watching us from a distance.

    What now.

  3. Steddie Says:

    Awwwwwwwwwww snap. I’m gonna have to hire a sniper to keep an eye on you and Kate. Dammit.


  4. […] into Baked Goods, I wouldn’t be satisfied with just making scones.  Instead, I would make The Ultimate Scones.  Go big or go home.  BUT! I couldn’t find a recipe.  The Internet did his best, but all […]


Leave a Reply

