Fireworks.

July 10, 2008

On the fourth of July, my grandmother and her pseudo-partner – were talking about an upcoming lesbian wedding.  My grandmother’s bff (and, effectively, domestic partner for over twenty years) has a lovely daughter who is taking the opportunity to marry the love of her life.  Thank you, California!

So, after I finished a large gin-and-tonic, I came out to them.

Gma laughed a little, said that she thought – perhaps – that was the case.  My lack of boyfriends tipped her off a little.  They gave me hugs, told me that I was remarkable, and said that they loved me so very much.

It’s a hard life, said Gma’s best friend – one she wouldn’t choose for anyone.  It’s difficult to realize that there are people in the world who will dislike you for some unknown, unquantifiable reason.  But we are all God’s creation, and we should be proud of who we are.

Happy Pride, everyone.

-mym

One Response to “Fireworks.”

  1. GlitterPaintPony Says:

    Damn you Yvanka! You just made me cry at work. I also love you so very much. Hooray for freely being the people we are.


Leave a Reply

