Moments of gold and flashes of light.

July 24, 2008

Dear All Y’alls,

I’ve had a hella busy weekend. I helped to host a bridal shower, I worked worked worked, wrote some essays in a flighty, ridiculous eleventh-hour style (as I do), and I helped to organize an amateur recording session.

Did you know that being a Maid of Honor is a ridiculously time-consuming job? It really is. A JOB, in addition to the actual jobs that I do. (One-and-a-half, plus a graduate degree, by the way, in case you were wondering.) There’s planning and coordinating and booking and contacting and accompanying and calming and listing and inviting and all of that plus more other things and IT’S NOT EVEN LEGAL FOR ME TO GET MARRIED not that there’s anyone who wants to marry me anyway, *sob*.

Anyhow!

No, wedding-related duties are truly a pain in the butt, especially when bridesmaids don’t get back to me about their wishes, hopes, dreams and desires.  It’s really difficult to book our tarot reader when we’re just not sure how many readees we’ll have, or how many massages I have to book.

Hard life, huh?

Well, it is.  We’re all saving our money to do these things with and for one another, and for this bride.  We love her, and she’ll probably (hopefully!) only have the one wedding — so we want to do this right.  That means pulling out almost all of the stops.  Expensive dresses, but they’re beautiful.  Tarot readings, massages and pedicures.  Undergarmenture and jewelry, and a gift for the bride who so rudely planned her wedding very near to her birthday so now I have to double-gift her, DAMNIT.

The point is, it’s not like I’ve just got all of this extra cash floating around.  I work hard for the money (so you’d better treat me right) at both jobs, making sure everybody is faking it to the very best of their abilities.  But honestly – I save, I buy appropriate things (car repair) and eschew things I won’t personally use (iPod) and make certain I have enough left over to do the things I want (push-up bra, vacation to Oregon) without sacrificing the things I need (health insurance, gas for vehicle, tuition).

And that’s how I know I’m an adult.

It sucks.

More on that tomorrow.

-mym

One Response to “Moments of gold and flashes of light.”

  1. GlitterPaintPony Says:

    Ew. Adults.


Leave a Reply

