Gah!

December 7, 2008

The whole wordpress shebang looks different.  I am just a bit bizarre-d out by the new look.  Wacky.

I felt lots of things this weekend, including (but not limited to):

  • Overwhelmed
  • Anxious
  • Concerned
  • Confused
  • Encouraged
  • Sad (but not all the way sad, just a tinge of sadness)
  • Slow
  • Ill
  • Unconcerned
  • Involved
  • Annoyed
  • Uninformed
  • Goddamn tired.

I am going to audition for a show – my favorite show – in January.  A girl I know who is excellent at musical theatre, she convinced me.  We were talking about auditions, and I mentioned that I hadn’t auditioned for anything in a billion years – and she told me I should, that I needed to.  And that I’d be perfect for one of he parts in this show, my favorite show.  So, I will go, the last weekend of January, and sing for a bunch of people I’ve never met, with a resume that includes exactly zero recent experience (and very little not-so-recent experience) and if I am cast – which I do not expect to be, as I know there are quite a few wonderful vocalists out there auditioning for this particularly excellent show – then I will make a decision about my Spring semester.  It might be worth it to get behind a little to sing in this show.  If they want me.

Now I have to pick a song or two, and rehearse a monologue, and get an appointment.  And headshots.  Dear me.  It’s an ordeal to audition for shows.  But I felt so encouraged by this girl — she’s really fucking good.  And she thinks I am good, and that I would have at least a small shot at getting a part.  Even if I don’t get cast, I feel rather bolstered by her endorsement.

This week, I have to begin and complete a special project (a monte carlo simulation), do a regression analysis, study for and take a statistics final, give a case presentation, work on a forty-page paper with my boss-lady, and finalize my notebook.  I feel royally screwed.  And also like all I want to do is go to bed.

Leave a Reply

