Rest.

November 11, 2009

In choral singing – hell, in all singing – the rests are just as important as the production of sound.  The rest is where the vocalist gathers energy, prepares their body for the onset, cues the accompanist, mentally readies herself for the next phrase, makes a connection.  The breath, the moment between the words is integral to the truth of singing.  Without proper use of the rest, the tone falls flat.  Support fails.  The voice fails.  Disaster ensues.

So instead of posting some stupid-ass bullshit yesterday, I went to bed.

Help me, friends.  What do you want to hear?  Anything?  Are you  satisfied with the bullshit, or the silence?  Comment.  Share.  I need your guidance.

One Response to “Rest.”

  1. Molly Says:

    I, for one, enjoy reading your stories about everyday things, whether they be random-ass or “on-topic” (whatever the crap THAT means). I like the stories with a point, and those without. I guess I just like hearing about YOU!

    I also like your stories about school. 🙂


Leave a Reply

