Eff. Other letters too.

November 11, 2010

Well, hey, look how badly I failed at blogging this time!  BUNGLE.  But I’m about to start blogging for my new job, so that’ll be fun and unusual.  And required, so therefore, easier to maintain.  More like mini-work-essays than blogging, really.  (I’ll probably fail at that, too. Sigh.)

Oh but hey, I have a new job!

I have a new place to live!

I have a new set of responsibilities!  And a new title, and a sexy new business card in Myriad Pro (which font, incidentally, was co-created by a lady named Twombly,  a truly excellent name)!

I have a new boss!  I have a whole cadre of new people to impress, alienate, or enrage!

I have a lot of things to think about. They are mostly of the ‘oh fuck what am I doing’ variety, but I find if I remind myself that I don’t have to look beyond the next year, then I can calm down.  Also drink some gin.

Somebody will let me live in their house and/or apartment building.  I will get my student loans paid.  I will figure out how to fix this fucking database and I will get the board the things they need, and maybe they’ll give me a positive review in the springtime.

I’m tired and hungry, so now it’s time for a Smartypants-style smattering of short sentences.

SYCOPHANT

New boss-lady is fucking cool, you guys.  She is not only an extremely accomplished conductor and composer with skills like whoa, she’s FUNNY and PLEASANT and SUCCESSFUL and also happens to be a LESBIAN.  I only know two other grown-up lesbians, so suddenly working for this kickass woman has expanded my adult lady-loving role models by 33.4%, y’all.  It’s pretty great.  It gives me hope.

LONELY

Because sometimes I’m like FUCK, why haven’t I gone on a single date in years, when my sister can’t walk four steps without somebody giving her their phone number?  HEY LADIES: I have a phone.  It rings (sometimes, damn you AT&T) and I answer (if I’m not working).  Am I destined to be the creaky old one in my group of friends?  Is that what’s up?  ‘Cause, that bites, and I don’t accept it.  I’m aboutsta try Match, again.  Sigh.

BEVERAGE

I’ve been trying to lose weight, again, and it’s worked a little in the office ’cause I forget to eat.  Or I remember and can be like, oh, let’s have 280 calories instead of FIVE BILLION.  But then I get home and I have, oh, half a bottle of wine. Or a v8 with gin in it, for my daily faily vegetables.

(I know. It was actually pretty good though.)

I’ll be back, with exciting non-revelations about… probably those same topics, yet again!  Yep.  Nothing if not original.

One Response to “Eff. Other letters too.”

  1. megawats Says:

    YAY BLOG!

    Also. Um. I may have just created an OkCupid account this evening. Yes. I too understand the lonely. My first message? From a married, bi, poly dad. Yes.


Leave a Reply

